DYA Executive Board Applicants 2012-2014 Term

DYA Executive Board Applicants

At the DYA National Gathering, we will be voting for the four applicants that we think best will fill national Executive Board of the Dominican Young Adults.  Each active DYA member will vote for four applicants (as there are four positions).  After the winners are announced, the four elected board members will decide amongst themselves who will fill which position.

Read the descriptions below and watch the videos to get to know the candidates

Lyamar Diaz-Rodriguez

Which local chapter are you a member of? DYA Guatibiri Chapter in Puerto Rico

Tell us about you! I am currently a student at the University of Puerto Rico Aguadilla Campus studying a double major in Finance/Accounting. I also do volunteer work with the Caribbean Center for the Reduction of Aquatic Debris were i coordinate educational talks, we collect fishing line from the different fishing docks for recycling.

What are your qualifications to be on the Board? A board member communicates with all the chapters. Being fully bilingual (English/ Spanish) will help me be able to communicate more efficiently with people from around the world.

What talents would you bring? I am bilingual, organized, committed, attentive to duty, and dedicated.

Sean Mundy

Which local chapter are you a member of? I am working with the continued growth of the DYA Chicago Chapter and am also the Communications Chair of the Executive Board.

Tell us about you! I am originally from Long Island, NY (Wantagh). I graduated from St. Thomas Aquinas College in Sparkill, NY in 2010 with a dual major in Childhood and Special Education. After a year of working at an International English School, I decided to apply for the Dominican Volunteers, USA. I am finishing my year of service as a Resource Room teacher at St. Pius V School and living with two other volunteers in the Pilsen neighborhood of Chicago, IL. I have been hired on to teach 6th grade there in the fall!

What are your qualifications to be on the Board? I have attended the Preaching in Action College Conference 2007 and the DYA National Gatherings in 2008 (where we officially co-founded DYA, USA) and 2010, I was elected onto the DYA Executive Board as VP of Finance 2008-2010 and Communications Chair 2010-2012 and was a member of the Young Dominican Mission Teams 2010-2012.  I am currently serving as a Dominican Volunteers, USA 2011-2012, as well.

What talents would you bring? My love and passion for DYA and the Dominicans in general can be seen by my qualifications. I strongly believe in the mission and vision. I have come to live my life by the Dominican pillars. I am organized, reliable, well-spoken, tech-savvy, a great team player, and dedicated. I have served on the national Executive Board for a number of years now, so I bring a great deal of relevant experience to the table. I am career-driven and service oriented. I also have a lot of connections with various Dominican sisters, priests, brothers, young adults, associates, and faculty and staff at Dominican colleges and universities.

Katy Somerfield

Which local chapter are you a member of? DYA Chicago Chapter, but soon will try to start a local chapter in California

Tell us about you! I just graduated from Dominican University (River Forest) this past May. I majored in both Math and Criminology. Starting in August, I will be volunteering with Dominican Volunteers USA as assistant campus minister at Immaculate Conception Academy in San Francisco, CA.

What are your qualifications to be on the Board? I have a knowledge of and involvement in the Dominican family (College Preaching Conference, Dominican Volunteers, DYA).  I have organizational leadership experience throughout my years in college.  I am prompt in communication. I am dedicated to the growth and development of DYA, USA.

What talents would you bring? I am creative, motivated, and a great team player. I had great and successful experiences with executive board positions I held in student clubs while in college, and would like to continue that type of work post-graduation. I really believe in the motivation behind DYA. I think that it is important for young people to have an outlet of connection to the Dominican family, even if they are no longer attending a Dominican institution or do not feel called to other facets of Dominican life (associates, volunteers, vowed religious, etc). I feel like I have been blessed with friends and mentors who have taught me the value of preaching with my life every day, and I would like to provide the same for others.

Andrew Vivian

Which local chapter are you a member of? I was part of the SLU group a couple of years ago and am working with and on the continued growth of the Wisconsin group. I am also the National Coordinator of the current DYA Board.

Tell us about you! I graduated from Saint Louis University in 2010 and went to Alabama to do a year of service work with the Jesuit Volunteer Corps. I studied Psychology and Theology and am currently living in Milwaukee, Wisconsin working as a Family Care Manager at Milwaukee Center for Independence. I work with individuals with different forms of Developmental and mental disabilities.

What are your qualifications to be on the Board? I am the current National Coordinator of the DYA board and represented the DYA board as well from 2008-2010. I am one of the founders of the organization back in 2006 and have such a passion for this group and what young adults can and have the potential to do in faith groups like DYA.

What talents would you bring? I have been part of this group since the beginning, so I not only know the history of DYA but also know what can work an might not work in a group like DYA. I have a passion for Dominican faith and am dedicated to making DYA something that is as much a part of the Dominican order as the sisters, nuns, friars, and laity. I am a very organized and thoughtful person and one who understands, with my previous experience, what it takes to have a group like this continue to grow.

Katie Meyers

Which local chapter are you a member of? DYA New York Chapter – St. Thomas Aquinas College

Tell us about you! I will be a sophomore at STAC in the fall as an elementary education major with a concentration in Spanish . I have always loved working with children, so education is best suited for me. I’m working over the summer as a freshman orientation leader at my campus, and we help acclimate the incoming freshman.

What are your qualifications to be on the Board? I get along very well with other people, and I am always wiling to help. This would be extremely beneficial to help the new DYA chapters just being started around the country. The Dominicans are about community and so I feel like I could be a big part in helping anyone who needs any sort of help. I’ve been told I’m an easy person to talk to, which would benefit many people as well.

What talents would you bring? I am a very organized person, and I am very dependable when it comes to deadlines and making sure everything is in order. My personality is very outgoing so it would be easy to help the less outgoing people feel like they are a big part of the group. When it comes to ideas, I can usually come up with many in a short amount of time. Oh! And I am a baker, I can bake for any type occasions as well!

About dyausa

Dominican Young Adults, U.S.A. is a national organization of people aged 18-30ish who follow in the footsteps of St. Dominic to preach the truth of God's word. We are made up of local chapters and together we are part of the International Dominican Youth Movement (IDYM), comprised of groups representing nations from all over the world.
This entry was posted in Information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

